Individual Recertification

Recertify by Exam

With thee exception of the aPHRi, all of the HRCI programs listed below are accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). HRCI is required to report exam statistics annually in accordance with NCCA standards. To learn more about NCCA accreditation, and why accreditation is so important, click here.

In order to earn an HRCI certification, all candidates must meet eligibility requirements and pass an exam. If you aren't sure which exam(s) you are eligible for, click here for some help determining which exam is right for you

Since everyone's experiences and knowledge is unique be sure to review the exam content outline for the exam you plan to take prior to testing. 

Most certified HR professionals prefer to recertify their HRCI credential through continuing professional development. Some professionals, however, prefer to recertify by retaking the exam. Follow these steps to recertify by exams :

  • Fill out and submit an exam application by logging into your online account profile.
  • Take the exam before your certification cycle ends.
  • Recertify only at your current certification level
  • Wait at least 12 months from you beginning certification date before you take the test.
  • Adhere to the same exam-application policies and procedures and pay the same fees as first-time exam takers.

HRCI will review all recertification-by-exam applications..