HRCI Exam Statistics

All of the HRCI programs listed below are accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). HRCI is required to report exam statistics annually in accordance with NCCA standards. To learn more about NCCA accreditation, and why accreditation is so important, click here.

In order to earn an HRCI certification, all candidates must meet eligibility requirements and pass an exam. If you aren't sure which exam(s) you are eligible for, click here for some help determining which exam is right for you.

Since everyone's experience and knowledge is unique, be sure to review the exam content outline for the exam you plan to take prior to testing.

Total Number of Candidates Examined

From February 1, 2017 to January 31, 2018, 10,327 HR practitioners tested for one of HRCI's seven credentials - the aPHR, PHR, PHRca, SPHR, GPHR, PHRi or SPHRi.


HRCI Exam Pass Rates as of January 31, 2018

CredentialPASS Rate

NOTE: Accreditation standards require accredited certification programs to provide pass rate data to the public on an annual basis.

Number of HRCI Certification Holders as of January 31, 2018

CredentialNumber of CREDENTIAL HOLDERs
aPHR       2,338
PHR       76,170
SPHR       51,393
GPHR       1,727
PHRca*       1,304
PHRi      1,788
SPHRi      904
Multiple Designations     1,610


*For consistency of reporting, the PHRca figure includes those who earned the PHRca when the PHR/SPHR prerequisite was in place as well as those who earned the standalone credential after the eligibility criteria changed in April 2016.


HRCI’s Directory of Certified HR Professionals can be found here: